We welcome our new government and look forward to meeting our new MPs in November. 

Last week's election was a dramatic turn for our political landcsape. We look forward to working with the new government, and we especially look forward to meeting our newly elected MPs in November at our Day of Celebration and Action. 

On the 13th November we will be heading, as a Network, to Portcullis House, in Westminster, to meet our brand new Members of Parliament on our Day of Celebration and Action. 

Find the full list of constituencies, and who won in each place here.

Even though the election only took place on Thursday last week, Sir Keir Starmer and the new Labour Government have already appointed their new cabinet. Find out who they are below. 

The New Cabinet (information taken from, and for more: Who's in Keir Starmer's new cabinet? - BBC News

  • Keir Starmer

    Profile picture

    Prime Minister@Keir_Starmer

    Sir Keir Starmer is the first Labour leader to oust a sitting Conservative government since Tony Blair’s landslide victory in 1997.

  • Angela Rayner

    Profile picture

    Deputy Prime Minister@AngelaRayner

    Angela Rayner has been appointed deputy prime minister and secretary of state for levelling up, housing and communities.

  • Rachel Reeves

    Profile picture


    Rachel Reeves is the new chancellor of the Exchequer - the first woman appointed to the role.

  • David Lammy

    Profile picture

    Foreign Secretary@davidlammy

    David Lammy is the new foreign secretary.

  • Yvette Cooper

    Profile picture

    Home Secretary@YvetteCooperMP

    Yvette Cooper has become home secretary, and will be one of the highest-ranking women in the Labour Party.

  • Pat McFadden

    Profile picture

    Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster@patmcfaddenmp

    Sometimes described as the most powerful Labour politician most people have never heard of, Pat McFadden has been named chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster.

  • Shabana Mahmood

    Profile picture

    Justice Secretary@ShabanaMahmood

    Former barrister Shabana Mahmood has been confirmed as secretary of state for justice and lord chancellor, only the second woman - after Liz Truss - to hold the positions.

  • John Healey

    Profile picture

    Defence Secretary@JohnHealey_MP

    The new defence secretary is John Healey.

  • Wes Streeting

    Profile picture

    Health Secretary@wesstreeting

    Wes Streeting is the new health secretary, taking on the cabinet position he has shadowed since November 2021.

  • Bridget Phillipson

    Profile picture

    Education Secretary@bphillipsonMP

    New Education Secretary Bridget Phillipson has often spoken of her own childhood - of seeing "first hand, what happens when you have schools that are falling down".

  • Ed Miliband

    Profile picture

    Energy Secretary@Ed_Miliband

    Ed Miliband has been confirmed as the new secretary of state for energy security and net zero - a similar role to the one he held at the end of the last Labour government in 2010.

  • Liz Kendall

    Profile picture

    Work and Pensions Secretary@leicesterliz

    Former leadership challenger Liz Kendall has been appointed work and pensions secretary.

  • Jonathan Reynolds

    Profile picture

    Business and Trade Secretary@jreynoldsMP

    Jonathan Reynolds is the new business and trade secretary.

  • Peter Kyle

    Profile picture

    Science, Innovation and Technology Secretary@peterkyle

    Peter Kyle is the new science, innovation and technology secretary.

  • Louise Haigh

    Profile picture

    Transport Secretary@LouHaigh

    Louise Haigh has been named as transport secretary.

  • Steve Reed

    Profile picture

    Environment Secretary@SteveReedMP

    Steve Reed has been named environment, food and rural affairs secretary - the role he shadowed in opposition.

  • Lisa Nandy

    Profile picture

    Culture Secretary@lisanandy

    Former Labour leadership challenger Lisa Nandy has been named culture, media and sport secretary.

  • Hilary Benn

    Profile picture

    Secretary of State for Northern Ireland@hilarybennmp

    Hilary Benn has been appointed Secretary of State for Northern Ireland.

  • Ian Murray

    Profile picture

    Secretary of State for Scotland@IanMurrayMP

    Ian Murray has been named the new Secretary of State for Scotland, a role he shadowed from 2015-16 and again after Sir Keir Starmer became Labour leader.

  • Jo Stevens

    Profile picture

    Secretary of State for Wales@JoStevensLabour

    Cardiff East MP Jo Stevens has become the new secretary of state for Wales.

  • Lucy Powell

    Profile picture

    Leader of the Commons@LucyMPowell

    Lucy Powell will be the leader of the House of Commons.

  • Baroness Smith of Basildon

    Profile picture

    Leader of the Lords@LadyBasildon

    Baroness (Angela) Smith of Basildon has been appointed leader of the House of Lords.

  • Alan Campbell

    Profile picture

    Chief Whip@alancampbellmp

    Sir Alan Campbell will be the chief whip in the House of Commons and will attend cabinet.

  • Darren Jones

    Profile picture

    Chief Secretary to the Treasury@darrenpjones

    Darren Jones becomes the new chief secretary to the Treasury - the second most senior post in the department - and will attend cabinet.

  • Richard Hermer

    Profile picture

    Attorney General

    Richard Hermer KC is Attorney General - the chief legal adviser to the government - and will attend cabinet.



Latest news